Hundreds of academics sign Open Letter denouncing RCMP invasion of Wet’suwet’en territory

Published by Brent Patterson on

Photo by Amber Brackin/The Narwhal.

Hundreds of academics have signed this Open Letter that denounces that the “RCMP attacked and removed Wet’suwet’en land defenders opposing the construction of the Coastal GasLink pipeline project (a project on which TC Energy is the operator).”

The letter adds: “We strongly condemn aggression by federal security forces and the complete disregard for Indigenous sovereignty and environmental protection it reveals.”

Among its demands, it highlights: “First and foremost, commit to support this struggle materially with a commitment to material contributions and/or actions. Donations of money, supplies and physically standing with land defenders are needed.”

You can donate to support Wet’suwet’en land defenders here.

Among the signatories to the letter: Shiri Pasternak (X University), Robyn Maynard (University of Toronto), Anna Zalik (York University), Anne Spice (X University), Lesley Wood (York University), Irina Ceric (Osgoode Hall Law School), Catherine Nolin (University of Northern British Columbia), Tyler Shipley (Humber College), Greg Albo (York University), Brian Noble (Dalhousie University), Susan Spronk (University of Ottawa), Rita Wong (Emily Carr University of Art and Design), Justin Podur (York University), Jobb Arnold (University of Winnipeg), Simon Granovsky-Larsen (University of Regina), David Heap (University of Western Ontario), Trycia Bazinet (Carleton University), Johanna Lewis (York University), Miles Howe (Brock University), Naomi Klein and Avi Lewis (University of British Columbia) and Luis van Isschot (University of Toronto/PBI-Canada Board member).

The full letter can be read at An Open Letter from Academics Regarding the Invasion of Wet’suwet’en Territory.

Categories: News Updates


Leave a Reply

Avatar placeholder

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *